Cool matches I won’t watch

June 23, 2009 at 11:09 pm 2 comments

I won’t bring my uni whining to even here, but tomorrow’s Women’s OOP is looking mighty fine, eh?

Maria Sharapova(RUS)[24] v. Gisela Dulko(ARG)

We’ll see if Sharapova’s 24th seed was fair. Gise is a fair talented player than can take out the 2004 champion. And she was also wearing a headband during RG. I believe we need to follow and support the headband…ers.

Victoria Azarenka(BLR)[8] v. Ioana Raluca Olaru(ROU)

Pretty girls. That’s all. Oh, idk why you would like to see this match. To see Vika’s headband? Vika’s “hype”? The “Romanian Revolution”? There. Three great reasons. I win. Go scream “Davai Vika” now.

Aravane Rezai(FRA) v. Elena Dementieva(RUS)[4]

Calling an upset here. Only this is Lena. And I’m never right when it comes to Lena… except when I am. So… a-ha!

Dominika Cibulkova(SVK)[14] v. Urszula Radwanska(POL)

Roland Garros semifinalist and Tiniest Player Ever, Domi, has a real challenge when she takes on Grassula (!!!!!!!!!!! ♥) on grass. May the best player win*.

Elena Vesnina(RUS) v. Vera Dushevina(RUS)

This match has the potential to be one of hell of a three-setter. One of these long matches in a tiny external court that keeps the crowd hanging there cheering the players on. Except this is grass so there’s a chance of being 6-7 7-6 9-7 in a little over an hour. I still except something exciting. Both Russians and both Failed Cup players — they know each other well. Bring it on, girls.

*And by that, I mean, may the cutest hot-tempered blonde Polish girl win.

P.S. Rofl, no way I’m going to tag/categorize this with all the players’ names.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sorryyyyy For the love of headbands!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maya  |  June 24, 2009 at 12:46 am

    If Dementieva is upset today, I think my heart will fail – really want a SF (not expecting it, but wanting it). I don’t think she’s playing badly at Wimbledon like she did in Eastbourne…and Rezai is shaky, but it could be a bad day for Elena.

    Hope it’s a good day, and I’m sorry that you can’t watch – good luck with your exams.

    Reply
    • 2. Bárbara  |  June 24, 2009 at 8:59 pm

      Lena won. Wheee. \o/

      I want Lena to take the title, I expect her to lose at any moment now.

      And thanks. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 47,607

