Open Letter to Rafael Nadal (skip this if you expect something funny or if you hate rafa)

June 19, 2009 at 8:33 pm 2 comments

Dear Rafa,

I must begin telling a little bit about day. Today I picked up a racquet for the first time in about 4 months. I had a terrible tendinitis on my right knee in the beginning of the year. It would hurt like a bitch and I could barely bend it. University and life got in the way after concluding the physiotherapy, I didn’t have time to play. So I finally played today. I managed to lose a game by hitting only DFs and I had cramps in the third set. But the thing is, I don’t feel sad because of that. Because in the end… the important thing is to feel good when you play. I hit some amazing winners and had fun on court. Forget the pressure, I want you to be able to have fun, Rafa.

I’ve been a fan of you since I first saw you play and I believe that was in 2004. I remember when you won your first title, I remember skipping class to watch the 2005 RG semifinals like it was yesterday. I had just arrived home and asked my dad who had won the match. He said “Federer, straights”. My heart dropped. He was kidding, there was a rain delay. In case you don’t remember, you won that match. You’ve always been a joy to watch — putting a smile on my face even when my life was sucking. Most of the time, I believe sportspeople (e.g. the amazingly talented Martina Hingis) shouldn’t be role models to kids. I don’t think parents should put that kind of responsibility on humans, that like us, have a lot of pressure on them. But you’re not only a role model to little boys and girls but also to us, grown ups (in my case, “grown up”). Through tennis, you’ve thought us how to seize opportunities and how to surpass our so-called limits. You were always polite in defeat (certainly more than me). Always a gentleman. Always a great champion.

The last thing you’re doing now is disappointing us fans. We want you to comeback. We want you, more than anything, to be happy. We’re supporters, that’s what we do — support you. This is just another problem that’s going to make you stronger. You’re a winner, that’s not going to change. When you pick up a racquet the next time and walk into a full stadium, we want you to have fun. Because, seriously, playing tennis for living? That’s an awesome job.

Thank you for the entertaining,

A fan of yours

Entry filed under: holy rafa.

Even if I drew a map to it Cuteness will save the world

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. risha;  |  June 20, 2009 at 5:15 am

    On so many levels, thank you for that.

    If he can feel a little bit of the love tonight, even the tiniest, most titchy bit of it.. I’d be a lot less gutted.

    Thank you for showing the love.
    /end mush.

    Reply
  • 2. kim  |  June 20, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 48,553