Pretty girls wearing pretty outfits

June 14, 2009 at 2:28 pm 2 comments

I believe my snark goes away once grass season starts. What happened this week? Grassula made Birmingham quarters, losing to Rybarikova, that took the title defeating Li who had previously defeat Sharapova in the semis. Hm. Muzzah won Queens so now all Brits are drooling even more over the Wimbly trophy. Roddick injured his ankle, Nole lost yet another final. Kiri was dropped my Stella McCartney…. oh wait… WHAT?

01

Caroline Wozniacki, who is number nine in the world, will now be marketed across the globe by her sponsor.

It is not just on the court that Caroline Wozniacki has moved up in the tennis sport Super League. Commercially, she is also one of sport’s hottest names.

That confirmed Adidas by the decision to use the young Dane as the only model in a worldwide campaign for a new series designed by Stella McCartney – yes, daughter of Sir Paul from the Beatles.

Photography for the campaign took place Wednesday afternoon under humble circumstances on a tennis facility in the north-west outskirts of London, but will probably be anything but humble in expression when it starts to run in late summer.

Stella McCartney has been directly involved in the selection of the main model for the new design, which launches across the world while at the same time, Caroline Wozniacki as the only player on the top level starts using it during the U.S. Open.

“It obviously feels good, that it is I that was chosen and that Stella has also said that she would like me to represent her line. She will always have something that is new and fresh. She constantly seeks new inspiration, and I just think that she thought that I am new and on the way up and would be a good role model for the clothes, she does “, sounds Caroline Wozniacki’s own opinion on why she now becomes the subject of a worldwide campaign for the company she has been associated for several years.

The explanation confirms Adidas.

‘Caroline is a good tennis player, while young, open, responsive and full of good humor of court. She seems a natural choice for a design that expresses both sport and style, “said a spokeswoman, who insists on being anonymous.

Article from Politiken.Dk translated over at TennisForum (Thanks FormelyKnownAs)

I believe something that it doesn’t need to be said is that I’m a Caro fan. I love that kid, hardcore. I love her game, I think she seems like a great person and she speaks ten languages — and that’s incredibly charming. But, honestly, I couldn’t be sadder regarding this news. I’ll start by saying that it’s natural that Stella McCartney would like someone else to be their model. Poor Kiri lost first round at Roland Garros (I was there, it wasn’t pretty), has been having no less than shitty results, having awful draws and not even winning her usual Mickey Mouse tournaments. This is fashion, there’s no use in making gorgeous outfits if no one is going to see them. Stella was forced to make this decision. Now, the choice of the model… First, if I was Ana Ivanovic, I’d be pissed as hell they didn’t pick me. Maybe it was because of the slump or Ana’s body type. But… what if was because of the second option? Caro also has a terrible body to model clothes. Even people that don’t follow fashion at all know models are thin. Caro isn’t fat*, that’s the last thing she is. But she’s strong and has curves, really, she does. She’s curvier than Ana for sure. And Caro, I don’t even know why, looks like a walking fashion disaster. I think it’s the bubbly personality and how sporty, athletic she is. I’m expecting a mess (a hot mess) Caro wearing these frilly skirts with little butterflies. I can think of better players to wear the line, how about trying stealing Daniela Hantuchova from Nike? Or giving it to Anna Chakvetadze? But if you’re going to give it to one sucky player to another… Should have let Maria be in the first place. At least we know Kiri can pull of anything.

+ And in case you’re incredibly bored and somehow interested in what other things I like besides tennis, I made a tumblr: youdidntseemlikeaplayeratall. Also, if you would love Russian tennis players picspams, check out fuckyeahrussians.

*Blogger’s note: I wish I had her body.

Entry filed under: caro the danish cutie, kiri is 2 hot 4 u, tennis players are fashionists too.

Lovely sums it up LOL WUT

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ZOMG I MISS U 2!!!1111oneone « Fierce Tennis  |  June 24, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    […] to class. Hee. Please, Danish Cutie, pls, be nice to Kiri. I’m not even going to mention the whole Stella McCartney fiasco thing, so yeah, come on, don’t humilliate her — I’m already having to deal with the […]

    Reply
  • 2. HELLO THUR « Fierce Tennis  |  July 13, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    […] 13, 2009 I immediately take every single thing back I said about Caro not being girly enough to pull off Stella McCartney or whatnot. LOOK AT THAT […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 47,607

