Good tennis makes good day

May 16, 2009 at 10:46 pm 11 comments

ft21

I’ve been called “crazy” and all different sorts of synonyms by family and friends because of tennis. If I go back and think of the numerous ammounts of classes I’ve skipped to either watch or play, all the times I drank my sorrows because “dear goodness, Lena is such a choker” and all the days that the only reason I was happy was because of a match — you can say the shoe kinda fits. Last night, I went to this birthday party and crashed at my friend’s place after. I got there at 5 am and at 10 am I was sitting on his living room’s couch, wrapped under a blanket, waiting for the match to begin. There are matches things like these that are totally not worth it. I can name numerous Saturdays and Sundays I woke up at 6am to watch Lena lose in either the semis or the finals of Kremlin Cup. Yes, 6 am on Sundays. I’m hardcore. Today, it was totally frakkin’ worth it. 4 hours and 2 minutes of mind-blowing tennis with Rafa saving 3 match points. Novak had his chances, he completely owned Rafa in the first set and had the chance to close out the match in the second. I think these are the moments where you see why Rafa is number one: mental strength. Kid is a fighter. Now tomorrow we’ll have the final that the press and the organizers were waiting for: Roger x Rafa. I think Federer has a big chance of defeating Rafa tomorrow, he’s fresh (his semi lasted under an hour and half) and the boy just played a marathon.

You can watch the highlights of the match here and Rafa’s post match interview here.

And just because I’m excited for Roland Garros:

Roland Garros 2009 Preview

I’ll be there in Paris from Monday to Sunday during the first week. I’ll be taking pictures like crazy so I will try to blog and tweet them as much as possible. 🙂

Entry filed under: holy rafa, nole jokevic, roger failderer.

Pretty things make me happehhh The matches sucked but CEREMONY ADORABLENESS didn’t

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. daniel faraday  |  May 16, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    LOL LIES

    Rafa’s match at AO was longer than this

    Reply
    • 2. Bárbara  |  May 16, 2009 at 10:51 pm

      And?

      Reply
      • 3. daniel faraday  |  May 16, 2009 at 10:52 pm

        well federer didn’t win

        i would have been in a better mood if he had

        Reply
    • 4. loltennis  |  May 17, 2009 at 8:48 am

      But Rafa had a day to rest on that occasion.

      Better comparison would be Hamburg last year, but that Rafa vs. Djokovic semi was shorter, and Hamburg’s clay may suck ass, but doesn’t quite compare with the suckitude of Madrid’s. Hamburg also didn’t favor big servers as much.

      Reply
  • 5. Flora  |  May 17, 2009 at 5:48 am

    This Roland Garros preview makes me happy. A week to go!! 😀

    Reply
    • 6. Bárbara  |  May 17, 2009 at 5:14 pm

      HEEEEEEEE.

      (I might take a GIANT Russia flag)

      Reply
      • 7. Flora  |  May 17, 2009 at 5:21 pm

        Yes take it!!! I’ll take all my flags, and I don’t have a Russian one 🙂

        Reply
  • 8. loltennis  |  May 17, 2009 at 8:53 am

    What I LOVE about that RG preview is that they identify Djokovic on the screen box thing as “Novak Djokovic – Lost to Nadal last 3 years at Roland Garros.” Lawlz.

    But then they identify Fedfed as 3 Time FO Finalist. The fuck. “Lost to Nadal last 4 years at RG”.

    Reply
    • 9. Bárbara  |  May 17, 2009 at 5:16 pm

      I thought that was a pretty harsh way to identify Nole, but thinking about it now… “Lost to Nadal last 4 years at Roland Garros” would make me laugh.

      Or you know, Roger Federer:
      Collects RG runner-up trophies

      Reply
  • 10. darklucia  |  May 17, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    That was an intense match! When it went to the second set tiebreak I knew Novak would lose that set because Rafa wins at applying pressure.

    Hope his knees get better soon though…

    Reply
    • 11. Bárbara  |  May 17, 2009 at 5:16 pm

      I hope he’s fully rested by next week. ❤

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 47,607

